Skip to content

New York City Pride + Marriage Equality = One Huge March

June 26, 2011

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Mike and I ventured into the city today for New York City Pride 2011, which was conveniently less than 48 hours since Gov. Andrew Cuomo signed the just-passed marriage equality bill into law. We knew it would be a huge event, but I hadn’t quite realized it would draw the hundreds of thousands of people NPR has reported attending.

I generally have mixed feelings about pride events. On the one hand, there’s something very empowering about being among so many LGBTerrific folks and allies, but I also cringe at some of the overtly adult and stereotype-reinforcing behavior at what are often advertised as family friendly events.

One of the march’s grand marshals, activist and sex columnist extraordinaire Dan Savage, has expressed similar sentiments on his blog, so I felt a little less guilty about my presence. (And it was a very festive mood, so it was hard to feel too bad, but don’t let them hear you calling the festivities a parade!) Dan rode with his husband and co-founder of the It Gets Better Project, Terry Miller.

We also saw the likes of marriage equality supporters Gov. Cuomo and openly gay City Council Speaker Christine Quinn, Mayor Michael Bloomberg. Since they were marching, they probably managed to avoid hearing “Born This Way,” which nearly every musical group, band and float was playing.

Our friend Jon Cruz, who took this lovely picture of the aforementioned politicians, wore a get-up that included rainbow-colored wings, and he was quite the attraction for photographers. If you see a man in glasses, a pink cowboy hat and rainbow wings in any photos, leave a comment below!

A video Mike took of the Flaggots, a talented group with a crass-yet-empowering name. Note the music.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Daniel Douglass permalink
    June 29, 2011 12:59 pm

    Thanks for including FLAGGOTS in your blog. I founded the group in 1991 specifically so friends from the drum corp and color guard community could celebrate Pride in a way that wasn’t displaying the usual “overtly adult and stereotype-reinforcing behavior.” I’ll accept the slam about the music… but I’m sure ours was the most fabulous presentation! Thanks again!

    • June 29, 2011 1:30 pm

      Thanks for writing, Daniel. No slam was intended re: “Born This Way”–I actually like the song a lot! It’s just that it got thoroughly stuck in my head from hearing it so many times. While I see it was a logical choice for people to use, and I don’t see how all the groups in the march could realistically coordinate their music, I would’ve loved to hear someone use something like Ke$ha’s “We R Who We R” (which I like despite the spelling).

      • Daniel Douglass permalink
        June 29, 2011 1:51 pm

        My “slam” comment was tongue-in-cheek. We actually thought the Born this Way/Express Yourself mash-up worked well… the new and the old… as we were celebrating our 20th Anniversary. I LOVE the video Mike took… I wish he had the whole routine… but thanks again for sharing.

Leave a Reply

