Skip to content

Our Fifth Anniversary

April 27, 2011

Today is our fifth anniversary. (Mike and mine as a couple, not yours and mine as reader and blogger.) Five years ago today, as a senior at Vassar, I gave Mike completely wrong directions for where to meet me, arranged to go to a coffee shop that was closed despite the hours on its door, and fell in the mud while showing him my favorite walking path.

Since then, we’ve seen couples meet and get married; we’ve even been at some of those weddings. We’ve endured two summers apart—one when I worked in Minnesota, and another when he traveled the country—and a year separated (physically) by an ocean while I taught in France.

Even when we’ve been “near” each other, we’ve still been in different states, which many people would consider “long-distance,” but I’d like to think we’ve weathered it all rather well. After all, we did put together a helpful guide for our dear friends, one of the aforementioned couples who went through a similar Franco-American trial, and who are also coming through unscathed. In fact, they got married!

I worked all day and can’t come to see you yet, Mike, but let me squeeze at least this under the wire: Happy anniversary.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Dee permalink
    May 2, 2011 1:26 pm

    You guys are awesome. This post was also hilarious. I had no idea you guys met that way… Vassar romance! Where did he end up going? Did you have cell phones at that point?

    • June 24, 2011 11:14 pm

      I’m not exactly sure where my directions took him, though I guess I could ask now. I just know they sent him in the wrong direction! I got an American cell phone early senior year, so thankfully I did have one by then, and I think that’s how we worked things out.

      Sorry for the delayed response!

  2. Bearfoot permalink
    May 9, 2011 10:16 am

    Congratulations.

    5 years is a reason to celebrate, for sure.

    *is jealous*

Leave a Reply

