Skip to content

NJ schedules marriage equality vote

December 3, 2009

The New Jersey Senate Judiciary Committee has scheduled discussion, and a possible vote, on the marriage equality bill for Monday, Dec. 7.  The hearing will start at 1 p.m., and with any luck will lead to a vote in the senate soon thereafter. Garden State Equality, of course, will be meeting up at 9 a.m. Monday  at the Marriott on West Lafayette Street to prepare. This is what GSE’s last few rallies have been working for, and it’s very heartening to see the legislation move forward.

This all comes on the heels of a 650-person rally in Trenton today for this very bill – details over at BlueJersey. I’m afraid I couldn’t make it due to work commitments (which is why Mondays are always out), but I’m going to do everything in my power to be there on Thursday. I know GSE’s e-mails have a habit of calling all of these lobby days “urgent,” but next weeks will be absolutely vital to the movement.

Astute readers may have noticed my posts have of late been centered on same-sex marriage equality and less on my personal life. That’s because I’m working very hard on the former, leaving very little time for the latter, but I would like to note I took my boyfriend out to a wonderful birthday dinner at few weeks ago at the very cozy, amazingly delicious Eno Terra in Kingston, NJ, where we were treated exceptionally well. Anyone feeling invested in seeing more frequent posts and/or giving me more personal time can help both causes by attending the rallies, volunteering for the cause, or donating! Details here.

Update Great video from BlueJersey:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

