Skip to content

New York Senate defeats marriage

December 2, 2009

The New York state Senate just voted against marriage equality 38-24. One friend who was able to listen in told me, “37 people voted no without bothering ot say a single other word justifying their hate. Shameful.”

It’s very bizarre to have a group of legislators openly debate and vote on rights that are so personal and fundamental. It’s hard to not read or hear anti-marriage arguments as saying, “Geoff, you shouldn’t be allowed to get married,” because in effect that’s exactly what they mean.

My boyfriend lives in New York; I’m in New Jersey. With New York out of the running, New Jersey may soon become the only nearby place we can get married when we so choose. (You’d think with their huge budget shortfall, New York would want the money that would bring their state.)

Some Jersey lawmakers will attempt to interpret the New York vote to mean the will of the people is against marriage, but the vote today shows nothing but the cowardice of 38 New York senators. In fact, more people in New Jersey support same-sex marriage than don’t, according to a recent poll, and those numbers grow more in the favor of marriage equality every day. Now it’s up to my elected representatives to acknowledge that I am just as much a person as my neighbors are, that I have the same rights and responsibilities as my friend, and that “separate but equal” is not and can never be equal.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Oreste Belletto permalink
    December 3, 2009 1:52 am

    Democracy works for some things. Tyranny of the majority steps in sometimes and makes Democracy *not* work.

  2. December 3, 2009 5:57 am

    As a New Yorker, I was utterly ashamed and appalled by this decision. I was particularly appalled by the senator for our area in Queens who has an endorsement from the Empire State Pride Agenda on his site and took money from GLBT groups and voted no.

    I am proud of those senators who voted yes and pushed for equal marriage rights, those who left comments with their yes.

    I just can’t believe my state is so backwards. *shakes head*

Leave a Reply

