Skip to content

Marry me, Gov. Paterson

April 16, 2009

Marriage equality?New York Governor David A. Paterson announced at a press conference today that he plans to introduce a bill to legalize same-sex marriage in the state, The New York Times reports, and I couldn’t be happier with that man.

To clarify the subject heading, I don’t want to marry him, not with him as my direct object—I want him to marry my boyfriend and me (to each other).

After the two recent marriage equality victories (the Supreme Court ruling in Iowa and lawmakers overriding the governor’s veto in Vermont), New York does seem like a natural next step. And personally, as the state where I went to college and where my boyfriend resides, I would love to be able to prove this old post of mine wrong.

Governor Paterson came into power after former governor Eliot Spitzer resigned in disgrace after a prostitution scandal, and while I never paid Spitzer much mind while he was in power, I’m a huge fan of Paterson. Not only does he have a very clear, progressive view of civil rights, but as a legally blind African-American, he has the political street cred to draw parallels between the gay rights struggle and other civil rights movements without (almost) anyone crying foul.

In deference to the financial troubles of the print media in this country, I’m going to refrain from quoting the New York Times article heavily, but I can’t help mentioning one part of what sounds like an amazing speech by the governor:

Anyone that has ever experienced degradation or intolerance would understand the solemn duty and how important it actually is. Anyone that’s ever experienced antisemitism or racism, any New Yorker who is an immigrant, who has experienced discrimination, any woman who has faced harassment at work or suffered violence at home, any disabled person who has been mocked or marginalized, understands what we’re talking about here. We have all known the wrath of discrimination. We have all felt the pain and the insult of hatred. This is why we are all standing here today. We stand to tell the world that we want equality for everyone. We stand to tell the world that we want marriage equality in New York State.

For more, read the Times’ article.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Tristan permalink
    April 16, 2009 4:42 pm

    Vassar people are going to Albany on the 28th to lobby for marriage equality as part of equality and justice day. Hopefully Paterson’s actions give us even more momentum

  2. Nori permalink
    April 16, 2009 4:54 pm

    <3 However, I’m still miffed with California’s assery…

  3. Jennifer DiIorio permalink
    April 16, 2009 8:19 pm

    It looks like it’s almost certain to die, unfortunately. The exact bill was introduced by Gov. Spitzer (who was actually very pro-gay rights both as governor and State DA) in 2007. It was defeated in the Senate and I fear the same will happen again. Upstate NY is too close-minded and politicians in office are too cowardly to do the right thing. Bah. But good for Patterson anyway. Any open conversation about gay rights is sure to move the balance a little more in our favor.

    • April 16, 2009 11:55 pm

      I agree that it’s entirely possible it’ll die, but I’m really happy that he gave the speech he did. And given the timing and the momentum the marriage equality movement is gaining, this might even be another surprise victory!

      As usual, I’ll just hope for the best and plan for the worst.

  4. Shaun permalink
    April 17, 2009 1:16 am

    Well, good luck! It’s insane that there is such a debate about this. I can kind of understand those with a deeply held religious viewpoint, but most people just aren’t really that religious. And this issue seems to be a hot button even for many of the eversoslightly religious people – I don’t get that at all.

  5. April 30, 2009 5:10 pm

    One day this will all be a distant memory –

    Our kids will be SHOCKED there was still this type of mistreatment – at least I hope so!

    Great blog but I want to read more – keep bloggin!

    • May 20, 2009 11:26 pm

      Thanks! I’m sorry I haven’t blogged more, but I’ve had both too much (nationally) and too little (personally) to write about lately.

      Your wish is my belated command, so check out the new post!

  6. confessionsofaclosetcase permalink
    May 15, 2009 7:06 am

    hey I had to delete my blog and make a new one: stormsinmydreams.wordpress.com

    thanks man..

    Josh

Leave a Reply

