Skip to content

Why we fight for equal rights

March 9, 2009

I just saw this extremely depressing post on the usually schadenfreudely hilarious F*** My Life:

Today, I sent an email to my best friend, telling him that I’m gay. When I was typing the email address in the “to:” field, it autocorrected the address to my mother. She just responded: “you filthy faggot”. FML

This is why I get upset when people act like the gay right’s movement is already won. It’s not.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. saperle permalink
    March 9, 2009 10:41 pm

    Jeeze, who acts like it’s been won? We’re only getting started.

    • March 9, 2009 10:44 pm

      I know! But as for the list, where do I start?

      All the LGBT people and allies who don’t bother to vote, the Log Cabin Republicans, the Republican party in general (which thinks we’ve made way too much progress), all the people who think coming out isn’t a big deal anywhere nowadays…

  2. Jennifer DiIorio permalink
    March 19, 2009 3:36 pm

    It’s not just verbal abuse either! In the past week I’ve heard at least six reports of attacks on gay men and women in the tri-state area alone. And in the paper today I saw an interview with a juror on a hate crime case (the defendant was sentenced to life in prison) who mentioned that he had been hesitant to convict since, “the victim must have had a death wish since he was hitting on a non-drunk man”. It’s seriously scary out there (and this is NYC!).

  3. confessionsofaclosetcase permalink
    March 21, 2009 1:04 am

    Forgive me – I find that excerpt a little hilarious…But it
    s true that people like us get abused alot – both physically and emotionally. The other day, I tried to find out how a friend feels about gay people. He said he doesn’t mind them around, but if a gay person comes up and tries to befriend him, he’ll freak out and probably (in his own words) “burn the person alive”. It was quite shocking for me to hear that….and further my resolve to be extra careful about exposing my sexuality to anyone…

    Josh

Leave a Reply

