Skip to content

Where did all that crazy come from?

February 5, 2009

I’ve been noticing lately that crazy people are getting a lot of press.

Now, I’ve studied enough psychology to know that “crazy” has no helpful clinical definition, but you all know what I mean.

First it started with Rod Blagojevich, whose name I instantly forget how to pronounce the moment I see it written. His fall from grace was spectacular, and what really made it was the mind-blowing things he said, which were surprisingly hard to turn up with a Goole search. I’m happy to say the AP, at least, saw the value of letting good quotes speak for themselves. From The Boston Herald:

“Dec. 9 to my family, to us, to me, is what Pearl Harbor Day was to the United States,” Gov. Rod Blagojevich told The Associated Press in an interview Thursday. “It was a complete surprise, completely unexpected. And just like the United States prevailed in that, we’ll prevail in this.”

Then came Nadya Suleman, the woman who gave birth to octuplets she came to bear via in-vitro fertilization… even though she already had 6 kids. Once again the ubiquitous AP comes to the rescue, this time via MSNBC.com:

The woman who gave birth to octuplets this week conceived all 14 of her children through in vitro fertilization, is not married and has been obsessed with having children since she was a teenager, her mother said.

So naturally I boot up my computer this evening only to find this from Towleroad:

The Oklahoma Gazette reports on the “Clouds Over America” conference of the John Birch Society in Oklahoma, at which gun-toting Oklahoma legislator and homophobe Sally Kern “called for a new ‘Great Awakening,’ referring to a period of religious revivals from the 18th century considered precursor to the American Revolution.”

Kern laid out various points of a “homosexual agenda” in which gays would ultimately triumph by convincing the world that homosexuality is a “superior lifestyle.”

I think I speak for most of the LGBT community when we say most “lifestyles” are superior to her and her fellow famous crazies’ style of media-grabbing insanity. I’d much rather my theoretical kid get 20 piercings and blanket her midriff with tattoos than decide she needs to take up a crusade against some random minority group.

So I ask you, dear readers: What’s going on here? Is there something in the entire country’s water supply? Or have we just started paying more attention?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

