Skip to content

No, my BOYfriend

January 12, 2009
Waah!

Sadly, the hilarious gay panic episode "Homer's Phobia" isn't until season 8.

I headed over to Best Buy today to exchange the Simpsons season 6 DVD set my guy got me for Christmas. I love the show on a level few can understand, and that season has a bunch of gems, but the first disk came with a smudge that refused to be cleaned. As a clearly defective product, I didn’t think there should be any trouble exchanging it, so of course the store wouldn’t take it back. Why not? He paid in cash and didn’t keep the receipt, so there was no proof it was purchased there. (Borders didn’t mind and gave me a new disk without any fuss.)

Besides the backwards policy (it’s not as if I was bootlegging it—I wanted the same thing!), I was a bit miffed when the BB person asked me who I got it from. “My boyfriend,” I told him.

“Your girlfriend?” he asked.

“My boyfriend,” I repeated.

In his reply, that became “your… friend.”

It’s amazing how unwilling some people are to make simple verbal concessions like that. He’s definitely my boyfriend, whether or not the customer service guy at the Princeton Best Buy approves.

CSGATPBB was actually an otherwise nice guy, I should note. But I always find it frustrating when people refuse to acknowledge my relationship with mon amour, because I don’t think that’s the appropriate situation for anyone to make a political stand. Really, how much is it to ask that my love not be turned into a protest rally? But then, they didn’t event take back their own defective merchandise, so I guess I just have unrealistic goals of the customer service department.

As my boyfriend put it so succinctly: “They’re like the Wal-Mart of electronics stores.”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Meg permalink
    January 12, 2009 7:24 am

    I used to work at a Best Buy, and I’m surprised that things weren’t worse there. Ugh. They’re pretty much Evil Incarnate.

    It’s pretty lousy that not only do some people get to deny LEGAL rights, but they think they can also deny the very reality of same-sex relationships by not acknowledging them. Fortunately for us, they can stick their heads in the sand and put their fingers in their ears and sing “La la la, there aren’t any gay people around here la la la” all they want, and it won’t change anything. But it’s annoying and rude and people who do that pretty much surrender the right to even talk to me.

    Seriously, what did this guy think was gonna happen? You were going to go home and say to your boyfriend, “Well, the guy at Best Buy says we’re just friends, so I guess we’re just friends! Here have some overpriced DVD’s!”

    If it makes you feel any better, this jerkwad works at Best Buy, so his karmic retribution has already come to nest, because that place is the 4th Circle of Retail Hell.

  2. Geof 1 permalink
    January 12, 2009 4:22 pm

    I would love to see someone try to stick his head in the sand, with his fingers in his ears, and sing anything. That would be freaking hysterical. Also, G2, I love how this blog gives vent to the angry side of you that I never get to see. I was beginning to think you were a pacifist with an honorary black belt, but it pleases me to see the dark side of Geoffs. Rage on!

  3. Sara permalink
    January 12, 2009 5:24 pm

    R and I recently went to meet with the florist to figure out what the hell kind of flowers we want to have at the wedding (besides my helpful response of “pretty ones.”) We meet the guy–v. nice, although I can just by the way that he’s brainstorming things that he is used to do v. traditional style weddings (i.e. not ours.) We do the rundown for the groom’s side first, and he goes “okay, six boutinierres, etc. etc.” and I poke R and say, “Don’t forget to tell him that one of your groomsmen is a woman.” R tells him, and the florist is not only surprised, he goes on about this for like, 5 solid minutes–“A woman? Really? That’s a new one to me! Were there no more spaces for bridesmaids? Do you think it will look okay?” and just really kind of more surprised than I was expected.

    Cut to figuring out my side. I say, “I want the mothers to each hold a single calla lily.” He says, “Okay, so two calla lilies for the mothers.” I say, “We’ll need three. Each of my mothers need one.”

    Florist: gives a quizzical look, opens his mouth, closes it, scratches forehead, looks down at paper. “So you have a mother and a step-mother?”

    My thoughts: Do I really want to bother explaining to this nice, but clearly traditionally/narrow-minded man that I have two mothers, considering he can barely handle the idea of a female groomsperson? My response: “Yes.”

    It was the v. first moment in all our wedding planning (including when I tried on dresses, when the David’s Bridal said, “So, are they both your mothers?” and I said yes, and she was like “That’s awesome.”) that I a) had someone not understand my family and b) feel like even I explained, I wouldn’t be understood. It was weird.

  4. January 17, 2009 12:38 am

    Thanks, G1! I basically am a pacifist with a worst-case-scenario black belt, but I can get pretty fired up politically.

    Sara–you have all my sympathy with any lack of support you meet regarding your parents. My brother maintains that the GLBT movement will finally win when the children of the queer community grow up. At the very least, I think he has a point.

  5. confessionsofaclosetcase permalink
    January 27, 2009 6:39 pm

    Hahahaha, you’re absolutely right! My parents have trouble saying h-o-m-s-e-x-u-a-l. Hahahaha. They always referred to my sexuality as that “little thing”.

    Josh

Leave a Reply

