Skip to content

President Obama

November 5, 2008

It’s hard to put into words how I feel about what’s taken place this election, but I’m going to try.

After traveled abroad a lot in my relatively short life. When I was very young, I never thought much one way or the other about being an American. But by the time I hit high school, I was ashamed. While I never actually said I was Canadian, I was quick to assure anyone who asked that I wasn’t the kind of person they might expect, one who espouses the ideas of George W. Bush.

Tonight, for the first time in my life, I am proud to be an American.

Of course, even now our country is far from fixed, as can be seen in the senseless ban on adoption by unmarried couples in Arizona, which can only harm children, and the gay marriage bans, one of which has passed in Arizona and two of which look right now like they may be approved, in Florida and California. But even I can’t let that get me down too much, because the U.S. has seen a sea change tonight.

A former community organizer is the president. People who are willing to look past shock value, who can pull their heads out of the sand and take rational stock of things, have finally had their say. The battle is far from over, but tonight it looks like we really can make a difference.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

