Skip to content

Vacation day one: Gay bars

August 11, 2008

We’re staying with Shep, my old college roommate, in Boston this week while we’re on vacation, and the city has proven itself in one day to be considerably gay-friendlier than New York, New Jersey, or Philadelphia. I haven’t noticed any weird stares or unfriendly service people, but I have had some delicious tea, and my boyfriend went crazy (in a good way) over at Newbury Comics. We’re going to hang around here until Wednesday, when we’ll head up to Maine to stay at my aunts’. (Is it just me, or does everyone have a gay aunt or uncle?) In the meantime, I’m going to do my damnedest to get my friend to a gay bar.

The last time we went on such an excursion was back in college, when we and two other friends (a straight girl and Jon, the gayest guy I know) went to Griff’s in Poughkeepsie, recently after it opened right across the street from Vassar. Jon and I were mildly sketched out by the mirrored front window, complete with a serious “Entrance in rear” sign, and my roommate was comically uncomfortable to the point that he didn’t stop vibrating until we left.

Hopefully, Boston/Cambridge will present a less threatening atmosphere with fewer creepy old men. That’s certainly been my impression of the area in general so far, so here’s hoping!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 12, 2008 11:24 am

    I asked some friends and you might want to look at the Club Cafe?

Leave a Reply

