Skip to content

The joy of donating blood

April 12, 2008

Let’s all hear it for the Thai Red Cross, which will now let gay men donate blood! The HIV statistics may be appalling, but so is the American policy on blood donation. (I can’t, even though I’m O+, totally clean, and very willing. Plus I bleed fast, so I’m quick to free up the space for another donor!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. charlieg permalink
    April 29, 2008 4:17 pm

    Wow… really? Thailand’s blood donation restrictions are more reasonable than ours?

    That’s ridiculous. On the other hand, I’m not supposed to give blood in the US for at least three different reasons, but since none of them actually have anything to do with my health I tend to, you know… lie. And then feel good that not only did I stick it to the man (while the man was sticking it to my elbowpit), but I helped someone in the process.

  2. Jennie permalink
    December 4, 2008 9:33 am

    Wow…now if only we could get the US to be more reasonable. Still can’t donate here because my boyfriend is bisexual. Been tested negative for HIV since being with him, and he’s been tested negative since being with his last male partner, so WHY I’m not supposed to donate, I’ll never understand.

Leave a Reply

