Skip to content

Reflection on sneezing, of all things

March 31, 2008

I sneeze hard. I sneeze often. I sneeze in volleys.

This has not gone unnoticed by the people around me. My coworkers in particular take note of my sneezing, and pause every time I “kachoo” (really kachoo kachoo kachoo kachoo kachoo kachoo kachoo kachoo) to gawk. I don’t really think about it very much, except when people comment on it.

A colleague asked me yesterday if it bothered me, which got me thinking. I don’t mind (except when I’m driving or playing video games, because it’s bloody inconvenient), but it does arouse some interesting thoughts.

Having a funny sneeze is an awful lot like being gay. It’s different. People only notice when it’s right in front of them, and when it is they like to stare and ask questions. And it’s only problematic in people’s reactions to it, and not the actual “weird” thing itself.

I’m sure this is true of all sorts of uncommon conditions, but how many can name this last similarity to their list?

You can get lots of goo everywhere, but that’s easily fixed with a fresh box of tissues.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. foodmapper permalink
    March 31, 2008 11:45 pm

    Hahaha! Pithy and priceless!

  2. sheptothemax permalink
    March 31, 2008 11:49 pm

    Another item for the list: “In this day and age, there are plenty of people who don’t mind as long as you don’t blow it in their faces.”

    Or on the other side of the coin, “Having a cold and being gay — both are highly contagious conditions and can spread to you through contact with doorknobs or even through the air!”

  3. glasser permalink
    April 1, 2008 12:59 am

    OK, next time you sneeze around me, instead of saying “Gesundheit”, I’ll have to say “that’s so gay!”

Leave a Reply

