Skip to content

A quiet weekend with a mall excursion

March 10, 2008

I went up to visit him this weekend, and we really didn’t do very much. We did go to the mall Saturday night, which always go better than I expect it to. As usual, we were stared at by just about everyone, but I barely even notice it anymore.

I do recall a janitor we walked past, who looked very bored until his eyes widened as they traveled from our unusually close torsos to our entwined hands and then back up, no doubt checking for breasts or long hair on one of us. It’s actually kind of amusing.

There was a group of three or four young guys, probably in their mid-to-late teens, who we bumped into at a few different clothing stores. At H&M they yelled something about tight jeans, but we were both wearing baggy jeans, and while he was kind of offended, I just figured it had nothing to do with us.

But later, as we left Macy’s, they yelled random crap at us, and he got pretty upset. I assumed they were just random idiots who would’ve shouted at anyone, since none of them dropped the f-bomb or other anti-gay epithets, and I told him as much. It comforted him a little, but what really made him feel better was my (sarcastic) offer to go back upstairs and beat them up.

On Sunday night, we ran down the street to buy some Cadbury cream eggs. The lady was a little short with us, but no more so than anyone else in line.

I don’t want any of you to think that I interpret all ill will as homophobic malice. Lots of people being unpleasant is just that. But sometimes there’s more, as this blog will no doubt go on to show.

I remember my brother visiting me at school my senior year of college. We got dinner one night at a restaurant within walking distance. This was right after Brokeback Mountain had just come out, and we were talking about it, how neither of us had seen it yet, how it looked kind of funny even though it’s supposed to be sad, etc., and as we talk I notice a man in his 30’s or 40’s sitting with a woman at the table next to us and facing me.

His eyes were bulging like they were going to pop out of his head, and he gave me the evil eye the whole time we were there. Let me remind you that this was before I met my guy, and I was eating dinner with my brother, with whom I share more than a passing resemblance. The idea that he and I were on a date was disturbing, offensive (who wants to date their brother?), and hilarious at the same time.

When I told my brother about it afterward, he told me he wished I had mentioned it during the meal, but I had just felt too uncomfortable to.

In retrospect, I guess it was good practice.

Update: I completely forgot to mention that we got carded as we came into the mall. The Galleria has a policy of not allowing anyone under 18 to be in the mall without a parent or guardian Friday and Saturday from 4 p.m. to close. Back in college, when my friends and I went in a group, sometimes one of us would get carded and we’d all make fun of that person, but nowadays neither of us looks like a teenager. (Sometimes I do, but I hadn’t shaved in a few days.)

Congratulations to the Galleria for keeping the world safe from teenagers, but not those loudmouthed psychos mentioned above.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

