Skip to content

Quiet week, with flurries of sweetness

March 3, 2008

This week we barely did anything together. Most of our time (he visited me) was spent sleeping or driving, thanks to a two-hour nap when I had a migraine and him giving me a ride into New York City on his way back home to the Hudson Valley.

We did manage to go out together to my office, where I was mildly concerned that the otherwise extremely kind, 60s-ish woman acting as temporary editorial assistant would get freaked out when he brought me lunch. I told her, “Just so you know, my boyfriend’s coming by later to bring me lunch, so no need to worry when some random guy walks upstairs to find me.” A minute later, as I was getting water in the other room, she called after me, “Is he cute?”

“Totally cute,” I told her, and she treated him just like I imagine she would’ve treated a (hypothetical, imaginary) girlfriend of mine. I was relieved, and happy to see she was every bit as sweet as I thought she was, further proven by her making us chocolate-covered pretzels, nuts, and shaved coconut the next morning (with Ghiradelli chocolate!).

After eating lunch in the break room (he brought me pizza), I took him down to the candy shop where I spend appalling amounts of money every week on chocolate-covered pretzels and graham crackers. The owner, who’s come to know me as something of a regular, didn’t seem fazed in the slightest to learn that this was the person I bought a chocolate-covered strawberry for on Valentine’s Day, and she was every bit as cheery (and amused at the gluttony of her surprisingly skinny customer) as always.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

